Ice and Medicine at the end of the earth

A Year On Ice – Time Lapse Photography

Last night I had the opportunity to watch a full length documentary film made by Anthony Powell, who has been working in Antarctica for many years.  It was incredible!  And really captures what it is like to be in Antarctica.  Surprisingly, it also made me want to spend the winter.  He is in the process of editing the footage for production as an independent film.

A couple of years ago, he put together a demo to show the potential of time-lapse photography.   Many of the same time lapse clips are also in the film I watched last night.   The fact that he was able to capture the different scenes over a long period of time in extremely cold temperatures is crazy.  Most camera batteries drain within minutes to hours of being in the winfly cold.  Not to mention the cold of winter.  A better quality version of the demo film can be found on Antz’s photography website.

Unfortunately, it looks like I cannot embed this video directly to my blog.  Click Play and then follow the link to YouTube.  I highly recommend it.

I hope you enjoy the demo as much as I did!! 



You can see more of his time lapse work on YouTube by searching Anzartica

One response

  1. Gary Fudge

    Hi Jessie,
    I loved the video. Quite a technological challenge to get/keep the cameras working. I’ve staged quite a comeback but no tennis or running yet…lots of walking though.
    Gary

    January 6, 2011 at 11:32 AM

Leave a Reply

