Ice and Medicine at the end of the earth

Evolution of the Scott Base Pressure Ridges

I am back at McMurdo Station!  I have spent this week reacclimating to work and McMurdo life.  T.J. remains in California with his dad.  His dad is doing well and returned home yesterday!  He still has a long road ahead, but continues to improve every day.  If all goes well, T.J. will be back on the ice in three weeks!

There has been a lot more snow melt since I left McMurdo.  The streets are dirt and mud rather than snow and ice and the hillsides are losing their snow.  The ice runway is making the big move from the sea ice in front of McMurdo base to Pegasus runway on the shelf ice (closer to Scott base). 

In order to see snow and ice again, I joined a tour of the pressure ridges yesterday evening.  You can see photos of a prior hike through the pressure ridges in an earlier post.   Compared to the earlier hike, we had clearer conditions, with bright sun, blue skies and very little wind.  It was a gorgeous hike through a changing sculpture garden of ice.   As you can imagine, the trail has changed a lot since I last passed through.  The ridges are larger and more dramatic. 

I hope you enjoyed the photos!  I still cannot believe the spectrum of blue in ice.  And how it is always changing with the angle of the sun.   I will continue to post my adventures.  And T.J. will start his blog posts when he arrives.  If you are interested in learning more about Antarctica and McMurdo life, don’t forget to check out the “Questions Answered” section of this site.  You can find all of the questions listed on the right hand side of the blog below the archives section.  It has a long list of excellent questions submitted by AFSA students in Minnesota.  Fun to write, and hopefully fun to read!

6 responses

  1. Krista

    LOVE the pics! It seems like you’re getting back into the swing of things. I’m glad that TJ isn’t far behind you returning to the ice, and that his Dad is home recovering.

    December 9, 2010 at 3:59 PM

  2. dana

    So pretty!! Hope TJ gets there soon. Has my Xmas package arrived there yet? Love you

    December 9, 2010 at 4:00 PM

  3. Kressley

    I sooooo need to get on the tour tomorrow night – these photos are way more amazing than the ones I took on our tour a month ago.

    December 9, 2010 at 6:55 PM

  4. SPECTACULAR!!! Those pictures are amazing!!!!! You need to print some of those off!!

    December 10, 2010 at 5:49 AM

  5. mom

    amazing photos – I love the blues; makes me want to go back to Alaska even if it isn’t quite as dramatic! I know I won’t get to Antarctica so thank you for posting photos for us.

    December 11, 2010 at 12:38 PM

  6. KATHY ANE

    JESSIE, FANTASTIC PICTURES!! ENJOYED READING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCES. SO GLAD TO HEAR TJ’S DAD IS ON THE MEND.
    KATHY LANE

    December 19, 2010 at 4:36 AM

Leave a Reply

