Ice and Medicine at the end of the earth

Shades of Blue and Gray

I went on a lovely ski today, but did not carry my camera on the trip so I do not have photos to share.  Every time I go outside, I am amazed by the lack of color.  There is endless white and brown.  There is more and more brown as the temperature warms and the snow melts.  There was an overcast day a couple of weeks ago that highlighted a brilliant green color of ice that I had not seen before.  I have shared the picture below.

I am signed up for an ice cave tour at the base of Mt. Erebus glacier tongue tomorrow, so I should have some more fun pics soon!

3 responses

  1. Are the little black spots on the second picture seals?

    Great pics!!

    -Jim

    November 15, 2010 at 4:01 AM

  2. Thanks! I wish they were seals. They are small black rocks. Soon, there will be penguins in the area that those photos were taken.

    November 15, 2010 at 7:30 AM

  3. mom

    gorgeous colors in those photos

    November 15, 2010 at 6:07 PM

Leave a Reply

