Ice and Medicine at the end of the earth

Sleeping in a Snow Trench (is not for me)

After sharing my happy camper photos with family, there were a lot of questions about the Trenches that people slept in on the ice shelf.  We were taught how to dig trenches in case of an emergency on the ice, and three brave women dug their own and slept (or tried to sleep) in them.  I was not interested in sleeping in a snow tomb.   But I would use the skills if I was trapped in the future. 

They dug a hole long enough for their body and slightly wider.  The opening at the top is narrower than the bottom.  They then covered the trench with a long banana sled.  The area they entered through was covered by gear.

 This is Amy before she covered the trench with gear.  I am very impressed that Amy, Katherine and Lisa weathered the storm in their little snow shelters.  They say that it is quiet and relatively warm.  I know I would have been claustrophobic.

This is Katherine in her sleeping bag and warm layers before calling it a night.  The snow drifted in over the bag that is covering her trench, making it a little difficult to break free in the morning.

This is what the inside of Amy’s trench looked like during the night.  There is more space than it looks like from the surface. 

 This is another inside view!

As you all know from a previous post, we woke up to condition 1 blizzard conditions.  When I got out of my nice roomy, Scott tent, there was no one around.  I walked around camp and found the flag that identified the site of the trenches.  This is what I found:

All three women were safe and able to dig themselves out of their trench.  I am happy to have the survival skills, but hope to never have to sleep in a snow trench.  

I hope that provides a better understanding of the snow trenches.

2 responses

  1. Isabella

    Ok I’m cold just looking at the pictures! I’m loving reading about all you’re doing and am very impressed with your camping skills! Thanks for keeping such a great blog and for taking so many pictures!

    I’m sure TJ told you, but your pine tree came down today. It was gone in about 30 minutes! I said a little prayer for the tree as they were taking it down. It looks funny when I look out my office window now.

    October 13, 2010 at 3:03 PM

    • Sad. I am not sure I will recognize the house without that tree. NO trees here. It is surreal. Glad you are enjoying the blog!

      Jessie

      October 13, 2010 at 3:36 PM

Leave a Reply

