Ice and Medicine at the end of the earth

First Sunset and Final Goodbye

It seems like just yesterday that I left Seattle for the adventure of a lifetime.  The plane returns tomorrow (hopefully) to bring me back to the land of color, smells, good food and family!  I had an amazing experience, learned a lot and met great friends.  It will be hard to leave, but I am ready for the next adventure!

The first sunset early this morning was a good way to wrap up the incredible season.  It was awesome to experience the final sunset earlier in the season and the first sunset at the end.  Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate to make the sunset this morning epic, but a hike after dinner proved beautiful.

Tomorrow, I say goodbye to great friends, incredible views and penguins.  Antarctica and the people of antarctica will always hold a special place in my heart.  I am so lucky to be able to share this incredible experience with T.J — it is one we will never forget.

3 responses

  1. Deb

    you have me teary eyed!! I have thoroughly enjoyed checking your blog each day and “joining” you in Antarctica. The photos have been amazing and your stories fascinating. I love the photo at the top today of the penguins on the broken ice in the distance. It will still be awhile, but I can’t wait to see you! love, mom

    February 21, 2011 at 6:57 AM

  2. Amazing blog/website! I spent the last 2 or 3 hours looking over all the old posts and pictures.

    I loved reading about your daily life and what you have there… radio/tv stations, how things work.. very interesting!

    I love reading up on remote areas, so this was definately an interesting read!

    Paul

    July 23, 2012 at 7:05 AM

    • Thank you! Fun to share the amazing experience.

      July 23, 2012 at 12:08 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers